Skip to content

Too much internet?

January 17, 2012

This might seem like a strange post coming from me. Have you seen how many sites I’m on these days? And those are only the active ones. I tend to be an early adopter so I have a few accounts everywhere online.

I’ve probably been active online since I started university in 1998. I’ve done everything from IRC to yahoo chat rooms to finding StumbleUpon in 2006 and being an early adopter of Facebook and Twitter. So there comes a time when enough is enough, right?

I’m still undecided on where I stand on the matter but I’ve seen so many intelligent, tech-wise geeks just quit all social networks. This article about the Joy of Quiet says:

In barely one generation we’ve moved from exulting in the time-saving devices that have so expanded our lives to trying to get away from them — often in order to make more time. The more ways we have to connect, the more many of us seem desperate to unplug.

 

There are even studies showing how internet addiction looks just like any other addiction in our brains. This article from the BBC says that you can tell you’re addicted when you cant give it up. There are even internet boot camps designed to teach kids what to do when they log off. Another New York Times article decided to not call it addiction but love.

As we embrace new technology that does everything but kiss us on the mouth, we risk cutting ourselves off from human interaction. For many, the iPhone has become a best friend, partner, lifeline, companion and, yes, even a Valentine.

 

As much as I’d like to laugh at the iphoners, I think we’re all at risk here of falling in love with our technology. The thing is we all realise that we need space from constant connection but it’s hard to give it up. There are ways to manage this internet addiction but, really, we all love the internet and that’s why we stay. How can we not love a place that gives us glitter and toys and um.. unicorn poop.

Everything in moderation, peeps.

*sparkle sparkle*

~anib

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2012 4:11 pm

    I feel uncomfortably like a slave when I realize that I’m unable to let go of facebook etc…I think its because it really is slavery, the question is to what? I just started using Twitter which is so different to fb, I don’t like it much so will probably more easily ditch it..not very interested in displaying my dark insides to god knows who!

    • February 26, 2012 5:38 pm

      Thank you for the comment. I actually think the more we share our “dark insides”, the better we can understand ourselves and each other. It’s about finding that balance.

Leave a Reply

