Skip to content

Nature being awesome

November 14, 2011

I had a friend that hated it when I used the word awesome for every little thing. “If you want awesome, look at the beauty of nature”, he would say. I cant really argue with that. Check out some of these cool videos I’ve recently stumbled.

The first one has brought such a lovely word into our awareness: murmuration. Say it again with me: murrrrmurrrrmaaaation. Lovely. I’m sure it’s led many people to their google to find other interesting words for collections of birds. A parliament of owls? Really?!  For the real geeks, there’s some real science behind this but, really… all you have to do is watch and smile.

If you’re really into science stuff, this little article about hummingbirds may peak your interest. Scientists have studied the little birds to find out how they cope with rainy weather.

The cameras show that the delicate bird shakes its head with such acceleration that it can reach a g-force of 34 (Formula 1 racing cars typically reach less than 6g).

This mid-air manoeuvre takes just 0.1 seconds and removes almost all of the water droplets from its feathers.

To me, it’s amazing that we’ve only figured this out now. Aren’t they clever little things? It kinda reminded me of these Singing Bird Pistols and how man has tried to copy the perfection of nature. Such a simple thing is actually quite complicated when you try to replicate it.

I’m not quite sure how I stumbled onto Brian Skerry and this TED Talk that he did about his amazing photography in the ocean. It’s not an easy video to watch as he does go into the destruction and horror that man has inflicted on nature. However, he does mention one close encounter with a right whale.  A few weeks later I found this next video where he just talks about that whale and how he got these amazing images.

And finally, this next one doesn’t have a story. It’s just flowers being flowers. But it’s kinda awesome, I think.

Much love

~anib

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. michaeljones909 permalink
    November 14, 2011 10:01 pm

    I’ve seen this kind of thing before a” murmuration of starlings that is” but never quite like that.
    That was AWESOME !!!….:)

    • November 15, 2011 2:39 am

      It’s pretty amazing, isn’t it? Glad I could share 🙂

Leave a Reply

