Skip to content

Christmas muzak

December 18, 2010

Oh, Christmas time… It’s a time for feasting and goodwill to all men. It’s the silly season and it’s the season where all good sense goes on holiday too. I really do love it though. I try to embrace silliness and cheesy kitsch throughout the year but, during this special time, everyone else joins in the fun. So, put your good taste away, and celebrate with me. πŸ™‚

We’ve all had to suffer through years of Boney M madness. I’m sure one day I can listen to Boney again but, right now, I’m excluding that horror from my playlist. However, I do fully embrace the 80’s wonderfulness that is Wham! It only comes on the radio once a year and all the ladies conveniently forget that George Michael would never actually never give them his heart. And what is Christmas without a chase in the snow and sitting next to a roaring fireplace? *quiet chuckle from another hot summer’s night in Africa*

A few more embarrassing favourites include Mariah Carey’s 1994 hit “All I want for Christmas is You.” I know. I’m sorry. I cant help myself. It makes me happy. I’m still pissed off that I never got that CD back in the day. However, before CD’s, we had the Chipmunks on tape and we absolutely LOVED this song. So many good memories… and that’s what Christmas is really all about.

There are quite a few modern adaptations of old traditions. I mentioned the Slayer Christmas lights in my last post but this next video is beyond amazing. My friend Alice sent me the original Portuguese version that has already received 1.5million views. I’m so glad they made an English version of this modern translation of the Christmas story using Twitter, Facebook, Foursquare and Gmail. It’s bound to become a classic.

So, that’s all from me. I hope you all have a great Christmas. If you hate the old traditions, make new ones. Make the best of it and embrace the good stuff that this holiday period has to bring. Or, just go to a mall and support the economy. Fuck it. πŸ˜‰

Ho, ho, ho, kids!

~ani

Leave a Reply

