Skip to content

Metal in the strangest places

November 24, 2010

My musical tastes are quite varied. I’ve spoken before about my love of fado music but I really can appreciate all types of music. I’ve never really been into metal, though. There are some songs that are melodic and beautiful, but, generally, it’s all a bit of a big loud mess to me. However, I’ve recently discovered some fun uses of metal music.

Firstly, I hope you’ve heard about Robot Unicorn Attack. It is, very simply, the best thing on the internet. Ok, so it’s just a flash game with a robot unicorn chasing rainbows and butterflies and the occasional dolphin… with Erasure as the soundtrack. No, really… it’s good and it’s addictive… and there is no way to stop that song playing in your head… ever.

So, why would anyone want to mess that up with a metal version? I’m really not a fan of this version. The rainbows have been replaced with fire and the scenery is replaced by some “evil” stuff. I dont know who the soundtrack is by but it’s pretty “heavy”. In this case, this is only funny when you compare it to the original.

What’s really fun is when you mix metal with other songs that really shouldn’t go together. I stumbled onto this article with some pretty weird mashups. The Trooper Believer is quite a trip. It’s Iron Maiden’s “The Trooper” and The Monkees’ “I’m A Believer” (originally written by Neil Diamond). It’s surprisingly catchy and still a bit creepy.

Another surprise was “Come Closer Together” (NSFW). It mixes The Beatles’ “Come together” and Nine Inch Nails’ “Closer” in a disturbingly good way.



 

And, finally, because ’tis the season to be jolly…. what is Christmas without a Slayer tribute? Well, it would be quiet, for one thing. I had to laugh at the description in this video from lacycute20:

P.S. THIS IS MY DAUGHTERS ACCOUNT SO DONT PAY ATTENTION TO THE GIRLY STUFF!!!! SLAYER RULES

The dad is a Slayer fan and his daughter is a Bieber fan… broke my heart. 😉

 

Have fun out there kids. \m/

~ani

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Wayne permalink
    November 24, 2010 10:21 am

    Haha, I disagree though, the Heavy Metal Unicorn is awesome!!!

    • November 24, 2010 10:26 am

      😛 It’s ok… but rainbows go with unicorns. Everyone knows that.

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas muzak « stuff ani likes
  2. It’s a Geeky Christmas « stuff ani likes

Leave a Reply

