Skip to content

The High Five

November 5, 2010

I’d like to thank 6000 for inspiring this post by sharing with us another NASA High Five fail. I’m not a huge fan of high fives, but there really is nothing worse than a high five fail. Protocol dictates that if you’re offered a high five, you take it… no matter who you are.

There are a few more things that you should know about the high five. Wikipedia tells me it was started in the 80’s but, apparently, there is controversy about the actual origins of the phrase. Really? Controversy? Well, forget that and just scroll on down to the illustration of “too slow.” Thank you, internet. Thank you. πŸ™‚

 

I still believe that high fives are just a little bit outdated and I thought we all agreed to stop doing it by now. I’m reminded of this excerpt from Seinfeld:

JERRY: Hey, Elaine, have you noticed your boyfriend has developed an annoying little habit?

ELAINE: (Squints, imitating Puddy) The squinting?

JERRY: No.

ELAINE: (Stares ahead, again, imitating Puddy) The staring?

JERRY: No. He keeps asking me to give him a high-five.

ELAINE: I thought all guys do that.

JERRY: Slapping hands is the lowest form of male primate ritual. In fact, even some of them have moved on – they’re using sign language now.

 

I think we have to blame Barney Stinson from How I Met Your Mother fame for bringing back the high five. Well, he brought back suits too… so I’m not going to complain too much.

Have fun out there kids.

~ani

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 3:48 pm

    High Five for the cat and mama. Cute picture.

  2. November 11, 2010 12:16 pm

    Blame it on Desmond and the Tutus for their *awesome* song “High Fives”.
    It’s one of my faves. Because my name is Daryl and I also high five. All the time.
    If you hear the song you’ll understand. πŸ™‚
    PLUS on their site you can get a FREEofficial Desmond and the Tutus virtual high five!!

    • November 11, 2010 7:21 pm

      Wow. I had no idea. But thank you for adding to my knowledge. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Insane high-five. Actually, it was a low-five. | Ledfrog.me
  2. Insane high-five. Actually, it was a low-five.

Leave a Reply

