Skip to content

The cult of Hello Kitty

October 25, 2010

Welcome to Hello Kitty world. I remember my first Hello Kitty item (toothbrush holder pictured below) but, being a member of the Hello Kitty group on StumbleUpon, opened my eyes to a whole new world of pop culture.

Hello Kitty (HK) was created in 1975 by a Japanese company called Sanrio. It epitomises all that is cute, which is a big part of Japanese culture, and it very soon spread throughout the world. You can get the official HK merchandise via Sanrio but I have a particular interest in the unofficial stuff.

Firstly, I’d like to introduce you to Hello Kitty Hell. The blog was started by a man who’s wife is Hello Kitty crazy. His site became a place to mock Hello Kitty but now it’s become the best source of Hello Kitty goodies. The poor man. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hello Kitty was made for little girls, but grown-up girls like kitty too. However, they liked this product a little too much. Read all about the Hello Kitty shoulder massager that became the Hello Kitty vibrator. You make up your own mind…

However, I prefer the dark side of Hello Kitty. I love Hello Goth Kitty (I have a pink shirt with it on) but there is also Hello Zombie Kitty and even a Hello Kitty tarot card set (that is sadly out of print). Death has never looked this cute! Could it get weirder? Just wait and see…

I’m not really a Star Wars fan (*ducks*) but I hear Darth Vader is kinda scary. So why not add some pink to the dark lord to cheer him up? Unfortunately, this costume was just a photoshop prank but there is a real Hello Trooper tattoo.

How about the evil Kthulu? Oh yes, I found Hello Kthulhu: “So cute you don’t mind going insane or having your soul ripped out for devouring.” And yes, there’s a tattoo of that too.

And what about the guys? Well, I think it takes a real man to wear Hello Kitty… *cough*

Or maybe I just needed an excuse to post those pics. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Y’all have a nice day now.

~ani

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 5:39 pm

    Sweet, and I learned history of Hello Kitty too. Never would have guessed that it originated in China in 1975.

Leave a Reply

