Skip to content

Fighting Cancer

October 15, 2010

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

We’ve all heard the message, haven’t we? It takes a pretty dramatic campaign to get the same message to us in a new and refreshing way. I’d like to introduce you to Fuck Cancer.

I love everything about this campaign. Yael Cohen started FCancer two years ago. An excerpt from her personal story posted in the Huffington Post recently speaks to her character:

The movement started from my head in my hands, defeated and defiant, wanting to support my mom. I decided I would do something to teach people how to look for cancer instead of just find it, because early detection really was our salvation.


There is a lot more information on why she decided to “Fuck Cancer” on her website. Please read it! The point is that awareness saves lives. There is a lot of work being done in finding a cure and  lot of money goes towards that. But there is something we can all do right now: prevention and detection.

It’s shocking to believe that cancer is a man-made disease but 90-95% of cancer cases are due to lifestyle and environmental causes. In South Africa, lung cancer is the biggest cancer with smoking being the biggest cause. Everyone knows that smoking is bad for you. I really dont know what know what more to say to convince you… Please find a way to stop.

I was surprised to learn that cervical cancer is the biggest killer for South African women. Prevention methods include vaccination, condoms and healthy eating. Apparently papaya is the magic fruit (Really, Wikipedia?). I like saying papaya but I think a balanced diet is the best way forward.

And then we have breast cancer, the focus of October. Did you know that participating members of the Radiological Society of South Africa (RSSA) are offering a 10% discount on mammograms and breast MRI’s during the month of October and first half of November? Now you do. Go get one.

And you all should know how to do a breast self-examination or, as it’s been rephrased, feel your boobies. Whatever you choose to call it, just do it. And do it now.

Take care of you.

~ani

For friends in the Cape Town area, feel free to join us for a Cuppa for CANSA event here (Facebook link).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. al_ice permalink
    January 5, 2011 12:33 pm

    I agree, FUCK Cancer!

    As for feeling my boobies, I always preferred the exam my boyfriend gave me to my self examination! TMI?

Leave a Reply

