Skip to content

Kid’s TV in the 80’s

October 13, 2010

I may have watched too much TV as a kid in the 80’s.

My non-South African readers may not know that TV only arrived in South Africa in 1976*. There was only limited programming and we often watched the TV test pattern, waiting for the next program to start. Or, if you had a cheap family, you’d try to decipher the M-Net snow pattern to watch K-TV. Yes, really. 😛

It’s pretty crazy how much we missed because of silly politicians. Nevertheless, we did have a few great locally produced programs that are still favourites and are now treasured memories of our childhood.

The first children’s program on TV in 1976 was Haas Daas. I had no idea that Riaan Cruywagen was the voice of the bunny rabbit. I dont remember the program at all but it looks entertaining. How could a news reading rabbit not be entertaining? I am, however, concerned that the rabbit is on Facebook. WTF?!

Wielie Walie was also one of the first programs broadcast on South African televison and one of the longest running children programs. In fact, this research was inspired by a search for the song sung by the “blommetjies” (flowers) to call “Bennie die Boekwurm” (Bennie the Bookworm) during that program. Thanks to my Twitter friends (Thank You!) I now have the words, but now I need the music. I was very disappointed to not find anything on YouTube.  However, I do think it is now available on DVD.

There were also “international” programs that we watched that were just dubbed into Afrikaans. I used to love watching Heidi in Afrikaans with my grandmother that could only speak Portuguese. She couldn’t understand a word but laughed when Heidi laughed and cried when Heidi cried. So sweet. 🙂

If you thought the kid’s programs were a bit strange… the adults ones weren’t much better. Check out this intro for “Ballade vir n Enkeling” (Ballad for an Individual). Note the bit where he hits the former Miss World with a newspaper.  What. The. Hell??

These are just a few of the programs that I could find with some interesting information. Are there any other programs you miss from the 80’s?

Enjoy the walk down memory lane.

~ani

*Aside: For the older generation that listened to radio, you might want to have a look at the Springbok Radio archives. Thanks to @andrevr for the info. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. al_ice permalink
    January 5, 2011 12:29 pm

    Ag, the good old days!
    I loved 70/80s TV! FTW!
    Far too many to mention!

    I ALSO enjoyed the soapies on Springbok radio – yes I am THAT old – but I don’t remember any of the stories… will go dig around in the archives see if anything rings a bell!

  2. Deb permalink
    September 4, 2013 7:35 pm

    Other 80’s kiddies programs, Pumpkin Patch, Liewe Heksie, Zet, Mina Moo….not a lot I can remember…. But that was kiddies programs before K-TV started

Leave a Reply

