Skip to content

Twitter: Did you know?

October 8, 2010
tags:

I’ve been asked to give a small talk about the basics of Twitter and was surprised at the mountain of information that I found at the Twitter Help Centre. It has everything from the very basics to general support FAQ’s and the important status blog (a good place to check when Twitter is down).

There are even some basic instructional videos. I liked this one about Retweeting. On this matter, I have to agree with Khaya Dlanga on how to reply with RT’s. Spread the word. 🙂

 

Did you know that the Twitter community came up with hashtags? I have no shame in abusing hashtags. I use them for fun. I hardly ever look at Twitter’s global trending topics; it’s often depressing. Then again, the trends in South Africa aren’t that much better either. We watch too much TV.

I was surprised to see this article about rules for contestss on Twitter. I’ve been quite vocal on Twitter about how much I hate those “RT-to-win” competitions. Ever since the iPad and iPhone4 landed in South Africa, my stream has been spammed with these pointless tweets. It’s nice to know that Twitter agrees with me (told ya so! :P).

Please don’t set rules to encourage lots of duplicate updates (like saying, “whoever retweets this the most wins”). …Instead of their followers seeing your cool contest, their followers might start getting annoyed by your contest.

 

They also frown upon automated DM’s. From this article:

Including an automated “thanks for following” message to your new followers might be annoying to some users. We do not recommend, but generally do not regulate, this behavior

Thank goodness for that. There was an old practice of “validating” your followers using “TrueTwit.” Don’t be lazy. Choose your followers using your own common sense.

How do you decide who to unfollow? Well, I have a few “rules”:

  • You take over my stream with too much chatter, too many links, too many competitions/”trending topics”
  • You are negative ALL the time. Bad moods are normal but eventually they pass. Get help or get offline.
  • You retweet an idiot. This can vary from Justin Bieber to Paris Hilton to *cough* ex-friends.
  • You tweet about things that I have no interest in… like babies and religion and 5FM.

I know… I’m a tad opinionated. Anyway, feel free to unfollow. There are so many websites out there that can tell you who’s not following you back. I’ve never really been interested in them. I follow people because I’m interested in what they have to say. It doesn’t have to be reciprocal.

What I am interested in, is keeping my timeline updated with active tweeters. So I always try to remove old and stale accounts. I like Untweeps and ManageFlitter for this.

Hope you’ve all learned something today.

~ani

2 Comments leave one →
  1. al_ice permalink
    January 5, 2011 11:39 am

    Thanks for this, will definitely pass it onto my tweeps!

    • January 5, 2011 11:42 am

      Shoo.. almost forgot about this one. 😉 Thanks, hun. xx

Leave a Reply

