Skip to content

Know your memes

October 4, 2010

I first “discovered” the internet way back in 1998 during a computer skills class at university. Thanks to a few cool nerds, I was introduced to IRC chat rooms and soon learned all about internet slang. Things like asl, brb and lol (but never rotflmao) became part of my language. I then joined a few online forums and learned all about the joys of anonymous posting and internet trolls. (Aside: If anyone still remembers the old 104.9 forum… say hi!)

It was only during the September 11th attacks in 2001 that I saw how quickly information spread around the world. I was able to see what was going on in America at the time, speaking to real people in forums and hearing all the news and conspiracies from around the world before I even got home to watch it on TV. I very quickly stopped watching TV news and started getting all my news online.

So, with this vast database of information at our fingertips, what do we do when we’re online? That’s right: we post cats (*cough* G-rated blog *cough*). Lolcats is probably one of the biggest internet memes out there but it’s also a great example of how ridiculously stupid the internet can be sometimes. Make no mistake, I do love the kittens and I can speakz da language purrfectly (see what I did there?). But have you ever wondered how these memes start and how they get viral?

Well, I recently stumbled onto this site called Know Your Meme. It’s a wealth of information that you didn’t know you’d be interested in. I particularly love their videos because, as we know, no one really reads anything on the internet.  Here are a few of my favourites:

Hilarious. 😉

Ofcourse, not everyone likes an internet meme. I’ve linked some of the terms I’ve used above to Wikipedia but, if you want an alternative (and completely NSFW) history of lolcats, try out Encyclopedia Dramatica.

But, as we all know, haters gonna hate, y’know?Have fun out there, kids.

~ani

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Wenchy permalink
    October 4, 2010 10:05 am

    hello xxx

    • anib79 permalink*
      October 4, 2010 10:28 am

      hello lovely lady. 🙂

  2. October 4, 2010 12:01 pm

    Oh, this is a great post. If I have to explain any meme’s to n00bs I can just refer them to this post. yay! win 🙂

    • anib79 permalink*
      October 4, 2010 1:19 pm

      Exactly… be nice to noobs. We were all there once. 😉

  3. Elana permalink
    October 5, 2010 10:32 am

    I had to look up meme and noob, does that mean I’m a noob? 😉

    • anib79 permalink*
      October 5, 2010 11:50 am

      lol. I did try to link to all the techy terms. But yes… you are a noob. Well, you were. Welcome to geek town. 😛

  4. al_ice permalink
    January 5, 2011 11:07 am

    I like knowing the background to things and the internet is a vast source of info. Pity about not having enough time to checking them all out! Fail!

    • January 5, 2011 11:39 am

      Google is your friend. I love learning new stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

