Skip to content

Girl on a Whaleship

October 1, 2010

I got stumbled this really cool site by Xineann.

Here’s the introduction from the site:

In October, 1868, Laura Jernegan, a 6 year old girl from Edgartown, Massachusetts set out on a three year whaling voyage with her father, mother, brother and the ship’s crew to the whaling grounds of the Pacific Ocean.

This website, produced by the Martha’s Vineyard Museum, tells the story of Laura Jernegan and the journal she kept on her voyage. It also tells the adventurous history of whaling.


The Story of Whaling

It’s pretty amazing having this bit of history at our fingertips. I loved the details of her life and the life of her family before, during and after their whaling trip. There are details about the whales, the ship and many amazing images from the period. There is a mountain of information on this site and I urge you to explore it all.

My favourite part, however, was the little girl’s diary. You can explore her journal here in an amazingly interactive way. You can read the actual journal but I have to recommend you hear the reading. Of course it’s not the real girl, but to hear the journal being read in a “little girl” voice makes it seem all the more real. Try it out and let me know if you also got lost in the history.

Laura Jernegan

I love finding out about things that I didn’t know I’d ever be interested in.

~ani

2 Comments leave one →
  1. al_ice permalink
    January 5, 2011 10:51 am

    Thanks for sharing! I love the site, so interactive wish I had more time explore.

    I also enjoyed listening to the little girl the journal and loved how the sea got rougher on days that the sea was rougher LOL!

    • January 5, 2011 11:40 am

      Pretty amazing, isn’t it? Glad you enjoyed it. xx

Leave a Reply

